Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

FREC Advisory Board Mission and Roster

The mission of the Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation Advisory Board is:

  • to bring knowledge of trends and issues in the forest-resource-based professions and to provide insight to the department that will keep the forestry and related curricula current and relevant, and 
  • to serve as an advocate for the department to potential students, the College of Natural Resources, the university, the Virginia legislature, and the general public

ADVISORY BOARD

2016 Chair: Easton Loving

2016 Chair-Elect: Mike Hincher
 

Mr. Michael P. Cerchiaro
Vice President, Director of International Investments and Operations.
Forest Investment Associates
15 Piedmont Center, Suite 1250
Atlanta, GA  30305
Office: (404) 495-8591
Mobile: (404) 368-5310
mcerchiaro@forestinvest.com
 
Dr. Franklin D. Jackson
Associate Dean, Cooperative Extension Program
Virginia State University
L. Douglas Wilder Building
1 Hayden Drive
Petersburg, VA   23806
Office:(804) 524-5262
Fax: (804) 524-5714
fjackson@vsu.edu
Mr. Keith W. Cline
Director, Urban Forest Management Division
Department of Public Works and Environmental Services
County of Fairfax
12055 Government Center Parkway, Suite 518
Fairfax, VA  22035
Office: (703) 324-1729
Mobile: (571) 318-7575
Fax: (703) 803-7769
Keith.Cline@fairfaxcounty.gov
 
Mr. Alan Jones
Bartlett Tree Experts
1185 Five Springs Road
Charlottesville, VA   22902-8785
Office: (434) 971-8086
Fax: (434) 971-1331
ajones@bartlett.com

Mr. Brad Fuller
Huber Engineered Woods LLC
P.O. Box 38
Crystal Hill, VA   24539-0038
Office: (434) 476-6628
Mobile: (434) 395-8022
Fax:(434) 476-2002
Brad.Fuller@huber.com
 

Mr. Brent J. Keefer
President
Hancock Timber Resource Group
99 High Street, 26th Floor
Boston, MA   02110-2320
Office: (617) 747-1600
bkeefer@hnrg.com
Mr. Michael A. (Mike) Hincher
Senior Vice President – Operations
The Forestland Group, LLC
19045 Stone Mountain Road
Abington, VA  24210
Office: (276) 623-2477
Fax: (276) 623-1375
Mobile: (540) 230-1178
mike@forestlandgroup.com
 
Mr. James B. Kuykendall
Southern MD/VA District Manager
Glatfelter Company
11018 Cinnamon Teal Drive
Spotsylvania, VA   22553
Office: (540) 548-1756
Mobile: (540) 840-1704
Fax: (540) 548-0756
james.kuykendall@glatfelter.com
 
Mr. R. Easton Loving
District Procurement Supervisor, Wood Department
MeadWestvaco
7057 Richmond Highway
Appomattox, VA   24522
Office: (434) 352-2622 X25
Mobile: (434) 660-3094
easton.loving@mwv.com
 
Mr. Paul Revell
Urban & Community Forestry Coordinator
Virginia Department of Forestry
900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 800
Charlottesville, VA   22903
Office: (434) 220-9029
Mobile: (540) 255-4647
Fax: (434) 296-2369
paul.revell@dof.virginia.gov
 
Mr. Ed Milhous
TreesPlease
P.O. Box 1025
Haymarket, VA   20168
Office: (703) 927-2048
Ed@TreesPlease.com
Mr. Greg Scheerer
Forest Manager
MeadWestvaco
7057 Richmond Highway
Appomattox, VA   24522
Office: (434) 352-7132, Ext. 14
Mobile: (434) 660-9668
Fax: (434) 352-8390
greg.scheerer@mwv.com
 

Mr. Ken Morgan
Chairman of the Board
Morgan Lumber Company, Inc.
P. O. Box 25
Red Oak, VA  23964
Office: (434) 735-8151
Mobile: (434) 470-2404
ken@morganlumber.com
 

Mr. Edward Sontag
Enviva LLP
10901 Haverford Lane
Richmond, VA  23232
Home: (804) 332-0942
edward.sontag@envivabiomass.com
Dr. Chuks Ogbonnaya
Head, Environmental Science Department
Mountain Empire Community College
3441 Mountain Empire Road
Big Stone Gap, VA  24219
Office: (276) 523-2400 Ext. 276
cogbonnaya@me.vccs.edu
Dr. Darrel L. Williams
Chief Scientist
Global Science & Technology, Inc.
7855 Walker Drive, Suite 200
Greenbelt, MD   20770
Office: (240) 542-1106
Mobile: (240) 515-4223
Fax: (301) 474-5970
darrel.williams@gst.com
 
Ms. Danette Poole
Director, Division of Planning and Recreation Resources
Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation
600 East Main Street, 24th Floor
Richmond, VA  23219
Office: (804) 786-1119
Fax: (804) 371-7899
danette.poole@dcr.virginia.gov
 
 

Ex-Officio Members
 

Ms. Bettina Ring, State Forester
Virginia Department of Forestry
900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 800
Charlottesville, VA   22903
Office: (434) 977-6555
Fax: (434) 296-2369


 
Mr. Tom Speaks
Forest Supervisor
George Washington & Jefferson National Forests
5162 Valleypointe Parkway
Roanoke, VA   24019-3050
Office: (540) 265-5118
Fax: (540) 265-5110
tspeaks@fs.fed.us
Mr. Paul Howe, Executive Vice President
Virginia Forestry Association
3808 Augusta Avenue
Richmond, VA   23230-3910
Office: (804) 278-8733
Fax: (804) 278-8774
phowe@vaforestry.org
Dr. Robert L. Doudrick,
Station Director, or representative
USDA Forest Service-Southern Research Station
200 W. T. Weaver Boulevard
Asheville, NC  28804-3454
Office: (828) 257-4832
Fax: (828) 257-4840

About Us

Contact Us

About Cheatham Hall 

   

FREC Strategic Plan

   

2015 FREC Annual Report

   

Fall 2016 FREC Newsletter

View Archive Newsletters 

   

FREC Career Book

   

FREC Course Cards

FREC YouTube Videos

FREC Undergraduate Checksheets

Undergraduate Brochure (pdf)

Graduate Brochure (pdf)